Skip to content

It’s Greek To Me

June 15, 2015

I have always thought the pictures of Greece were incredibly beautiful, and I will say what I saw of Greece was picture perfect. The island of Santorini is postcard perfect, but let me warn you there are hills, and then more hills, and steep cliffs. Yes, the buildings hanging over those high cliffs will take your breath away, or perhaps it is the steep climb that leaves you breathless.

 

santorini greece photo: Santorini IMG_0447.jpgNotice all the stairs?

Our apartment was located a good 10 minute walk up a hill to the village of Thira, and then the millions of shops were layered up more stairs. My favorite spot was a small restaurant at the beginning of the first hill. Every time we walked by the owner would stop us and laugh, “You look like you could use a cold glass of wine, come join me,” and so we would. He treated us to many a cold glass, and also the best lamb I ate in Greece. Across the street from this sweet little restaurant was a shop where you could stick your feet in a tank, and little fish would nibble away the old skin. Believe me, my feet kept those fish busy eating the calluses from miles of climbing the hills of Greece. Those fish were a tickling memory, I won’t soon forget. Also up the street was the cutest old man, in the cutest old grocery store, he had everything anyone wanting local food or snacks. His cheese was all in large hunks, and he would cut a generous piece for us to try, and we left with a lot of delicious cheese. I think he fell in love with my daughter, and she with him, as he showed us all his cherished treats. When she asked about olives, he told us to wait a minute while he started unloading stuff off some wooden barrels. Oh my, in the barrels were his home grown brined olives. We snacked, we bought, and we oohed and awed, much to his delight. On this one little street, I found what I believe to be the real beauty of Greece, not the fancy tourist shops, but so much more.

When you have finished your tour of the wine museum plus tasting room, and you are miles from nowhere, and the bus doesn’t even slow down as it passes you. What do you do? We did know that there was only one bus every hour, and it had just whizzed by us. No other options, but to stick out my thumb, and hope this meant the same in all countries. My daughter thought it was pretty funny, and laughed that no one would stop. She was quite sure that it wasn’t the thing to do in a foreign country. I assured her that it was okay and that I had done this many times in Nicaragua, and Greece was much safer. Yippee, and I’m doing a little smarty-pants dance, the first car stopped. A beautiful, and elegant lady gave us a ride back to Thira. She didn’t seem to think it strange for two foreign women to be hitchhiking.  It might not be something I should be teaching my daughter, but it sure proves there are wonderful people all over this world.

 

belarus and hitchhiking nowadays hitchhiking has become not only the ...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

YY

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2015 7:33 pm

    Marvelous. I’m so jealous!

  2. Eva Baker permalink
    March 1, 2017 6:12 am

    Where are you, ESL Donna? Enjoyed finding your blog when I was teaching and living in Kuwait. Have been thinking of it lately and stopped in to see if you had new things up. Hope all is well! : )

    • March 1, 2017 2:17 pm

      Oh how nice that you still care. I am living in Mexico and being a beach bum, but also busy writing another book so don’t take the time to blog. I hope all is well with you and your life is filled with adventures.

Leave a comment