Skip to content

Birthday Fiesta

November 18, 2014

Neither rain, nor sleet, nor torrential downpour can stop a birthday beach party. Especially when you have two demanding waiters waiting for you to blow out some candles, slam a shot of tequila, and may even expect you to dance on the table. To say nothing about the mention of a man jumping out of my cake.

If you know Mexico, you know it is unusual for it to have days of rain in November. Okay, even if it rains, it will be clear and sunny in an hour, and you won’t even notice it rained. Not so on November 11th, it rained buckets, and more buckets, even the streets were flowing clean water about ankle deep, and dark clouds enclosing the entire area. I still had hopes it would clear and a 1 o’clock party seemed possible. Around noon, I got a message from an invited friend and she told me, “I guess you know the cake has been delivered, and you have to come.” I messaged back, “I know, but I might have to swim.” At about 12:30, the rain and wind really kicked in, and I thought no one is that crazy to brave this weather for a party. I might not need a boat, but I will have to hike up my pants.

photo 1

Not only did I make it there on time, but was amazed that all these wonderful people would come out for my birthday. I must have the best friends anyone could ask for, or at least the craziest friends. I do know the truth was; they couldn’t let Chuy and Jorge ( our fablous friends and waiters at Madera) down, as it was really their party. We laughed, drank, ate delicious cake, drank a bit more, and I received some wonderful gifts.

photo 3(1)photo 1(2)photo 1(1)

The best gift of all are these wonderful friends. So if you ever find yourself in a foreign country, and it’s your birthday, be prepared for the best birthday you may ever have.

Oh, the big cake with the man jumping out—He sent his apology that he had an accident along the way, cake crashed, and he was in the hospital with a beautiful nurse, and was so sorry he couldn’t make it.

Viva Mexico !

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrick B. permalink
    November 18, 2014 11:09 pm

    Feliz Cumpleanos. -)

  2. November 19, 2014 1:31 am

    You go girl! Feliz cumpleaños. Sounds like it was a blast.

  3. November 19, 2014 9:01 am

    Happy Birthday, Donna! Glad you had a good time!

  4. November 30, 2014 8:11 pm

    What a delightful post! The last time I was in Mexico (the only time) was on my 65th birthday. The third day I was in Cabo San Lucas I came down with a fever (which eventually lasted 5 weeks!) and I came home with peripheral neuropathy in my feet. To this day, no doctor has been able to determine what caused it. I like your experience much better…lol. Keep up the good work; I like your style. 🙂

Leave a Reply

