Skip to content

Banned Book Week

September 24, 2014

Oh how I wish one of my books would hit the banned book category. I for one have and will read anything I’m told I shouldn’t read.

This years list of most read banned books is so laughable I had to share some of those that have been banned.

And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson–penguins of the same sex

 A Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein–causing disobedience

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling–too much black magic

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell–inappropriate for teens

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson–deals with death

The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank–sexual content

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak–too scarey for children

 

Some of my favorite authors are on the banned list–like Hemingway, Vonnegut, John Green, Margaret Atwood, Harper Lee, to name a few. Today I bought three banned books that I haven’t read.

How do you feel about banning a book?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2014 4:29 pm

    I want to ban the people who ban books. That’s my take.

    • September 25, 2014 11:25 pm

      Me too, or buy all the banned ones you haven’t read. That sort of sticks it in their face.

  2. Candace Thompson permalink
    September 24, 2014 6:16 pm

    Hey, Donna! I agree with you – having your book banned is good for sales. Most of these books are considered classics, known by all. Love the idea of “Banned Books Week’ in our libraries. Thanks for bringing this up. Hope all is well with you. Candace

    • September 25, 2014 11:27 pm

      All is great here, and hope the same for you. Let’s ban the book banners.

Leave a Reply

