Skip to content

Turkey Talk-the country not the bird

May 16, 2015

I am still overwhelmed by the real Turkey and my previous perceptions. I’m even a little ashamed of what I had expected the country, and the people to be like. I had people warn me before departing, “You know that Turkey hates Americans.” No, I didn’t know that, and they were so very wrong. Much more to follow: on the charm of Turkey.

Directly upon arriving at our rented flat in Istanbul, a man yelled for me to come across the street and have a spot of tea with him. Okay, he was a Brit, but then he called over all the local business owner who were standing outside their shops and introduced me to them. He told me,”You never have to worry about your safety here, as all these nice men will be looking after you. These men are all in a Turkish mafia, but the very good mafia. They patrol this entire neighborhood and keep the streets safe and the prices of everything fair.” He then asked, “Why are you so nervous?” So I explained to the group that I was waiting for my daughter to arrive from the United States, and she was three hours late. They all seemed a little concerned but assured me that with the directions to our flat she couldn’t have gotten lost. By the time another hour had passed, one of the men thought it was a good idea to check his computer for the flight she was to arrive on, and so we all went inside for another spot of tea. At that moment, into the local coffee shop she walked with the entire group of Turkish men. I’m not sure who was more excited she had arrived safe and sound, me or the group of men. One of the men had spotted a blonde carrying a big backpack and yelled Donna at her, so she knew she had found a group of her mom’s new friends. Yes, we had a grand celebration.

To prepare for her arrival in Istanbul, I had gone to a little corner store and bought what I thought we should have to celebrate our adventure. I found great olives, pistachio nuts, cheese, and two bottles of wine. I studied their large assortment of wines and chose a red for her, and a white for me. The red being 50TL and the white 30TL. Now, please note I’m accustom to Mexican peso and thought a bottle of wine for three or five bucks was great, and according to the store owner very good local wine. Once back in the room with time to kill, I figured out the Turkish Lira to the dollar, not the peso and had to laugh at my spending spree. I had just bought her a twenty dollar bottle of wine, and everyone that knows me, knows I drink cheap wine. I will confess, our daily consumption of wine ruined our travel budget but made some wonderful and fun memories.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Serefe-Cheers!

Bottles of Turkish Wine, Istanbul

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy permalink
    May 16, 2015 4:47 pm

    You makes your travels so interesting let alone fun!! Can’t wait to hear more.

    • May 16, 2015 11:07 pm

      Glad you enjoyed. Lots more to follow, but I need to take time for the beach.

  2. May 16, 2015 9:54 pm

    What fun! I’ve missed you. How did you end up in Turkey from your digs in Mexico? Some missing links here.

    • May 16, 2015 11:09 pm

      The missing link is, my daughter wanted a travel partner so off we went for a couple of weeks to Turkey and Greece. Great fun, and wonderful memories.

Leave a Reply

