Skip to content

What do you do?

October 14, 2012

When traveling away from the ones you love, and you receive bad news, how do you handle it?

No matter how big or small the problem is when I am unable to do anything to help this is the most difficult problem I have with living abroad.

It doesn’t matter whether it’s a grandchild got his front tooth knocked out. The family dog died. Someone is sick, or someone’s house burned. When you are far away, and can’t be there for friends or family, it is at times extremely difficult.

My remedy is to go shopping for a new plant or flower. So far, this year, I have a jungle on my little patio. Sometimes i do this shopping because of loneliness, but more often because of happiness, but also just for the love of plants.

What do you do when you are far from home to maintain your happiness?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Deborah the Closet Monster permalink
    October 14, 2012 7:52 pm

    The last time I had to do this was with my mom. I honestly don’t remember what I did, but building a patio garden would have been of consolation. I think that’s what I’ll do next time.

  2. Candace Thompson permalink
    October 14, 2012 8:24 pm

    Sounds like a healthy way to deal with these issues, Donna. Hope your “bad news” wasn’t too bad.

  3. October 15, 2012 4:46 am

    It’s more often the kids who move away than the parent or grandparent, so it’s painful either way. Gardening is always good. Reading memoirs by survivors of more difficult life circumstances is a sure temporary cure. Or write up that story about the fish thieves?
    Feel better.

Leave a Reply

