Skip to content

Beware: Shooting photos

October 5, 2012

While I was visiting my daughter this summer, they insisted I buy a new, more modern camera. Obliging them, I bought a nice, compact, very modern, little Cannon. It is so small I can hold it in the palm of my hand, push a button and out comes the lens. I just point it and shoot. Great pictures. Of course, all of you have one of these cameras or a telephone that takes great photos. I just happen to be one of those people that is embarrassed to look like a tourist taking shots of the local people or sites, so my small camera is helpful concealing what I’m up to. Or so I thought!

My daily routine is to stroll down to the pier, and watch the charter boats return in the afternoon. I love to fish, so this is interesting to see what the action was that day. For the past couple of weeks, the charter boats haven’t been very successful. I spoke with a couple of captains who I know, and they complained that the commercial long-line fishermen were fishing heavily out in the bay of Zihuatanejo.

Later, that night after dark, I saw a couple of guy hanging on the back of a pick-up truck drinking a few beers, and in the back was a load of fish, both big and small. I pulled out my palm-sized  camera, figured out the flash, and asked it I could take a picture. They agreed. One of the men held up the biggest fish for a nice shot of him and his fish. Then I took a few of the load of fish. As my flash was blasting away, a man came running up and yelled at me, “No, mas, no pintura.” I was putting my camera away and going politely on my way, when a Gringo grabbed my camera. I thought he was trying to rob me. I started hitting at him, and yelling, “Robar, robar!” The guys in the truck were all laughing, but this white man was really upset. He told me, “Shut-up, and show me the pictures you took, or I’ll break your camera, right here and now.”

He already had my camera, so there wasn’t much I could do. Being smarter than me about my camera, he deleted my fish shots within seconds. I tried to ask what the problem was, but he never did answer. Finally, he gave my camera back, and told me not to try that again.

I hightailed it down the street, and found a local man I knew, who speaks great English. I asked him what he thought had happened. He knew who this man was, and that he had been catching illegal fish here for the past month. The reason he destroyed the fish pictures was because he didn’t want anyone to report him. My friend went back to see if they were still there, but luck, or no luck they had already gone. In order to report them, he had to have the pictures, and the license plate number of the truck before any office of the government would take it serious.

The worse part of this is the Gringo is selling those illegal fish on the International market and making a bundle. So unless someone cares enough to stop him nothing will be done. He is one bad bandito, stealing from the local fishermen and their families.

So thanks to my daughters, and my new camera it made for a very interesting night. I had hopes of showing my wonderful picture for all to see how great fishing in Mexico could be, but instead I have an empty camera, and I guess it could have been worse.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol permalink
    October 14, 2012 5:21 pm

    I take pictures of the guys you are referring to all the time. I even posted one of them on Rob’s board. All the government officials and police know this is happening and nothing is done. This happens two or three times every week with every different kind of fish. The fish depend on what is in the area at the time. I live right down on that corner and see this on a regular basis.

    • October 14, 2012 6:04 pm

      Evidently, you haven’t run into the Gringo who grabbed my camera and deleted all my photos. The other men just thought it was funny. Having lived here for several years, I have a lot of Latino friends, and they all agreed that this dude is a bad-ass and don’t mess with him.

      • Carol permalink
        October 14, 2012 8:41 pm

        Donna, I have been coming to Zihuatanejo for almost 40 years and if I meet the gringo (or perhaps I already know him) he will not grab my camera. I live on the corner where the trucks come to load up the fish and I talk to these guys almost daily when I am there. Did you see the picture I posted on Rob’s board? I deleted several off my camera myself when I needed room on my chip for more important stuff, but when I return Dec. 10th I will take many more and this time I will get the lic. number of the trucks. I did have them but deleted. I have taken these pictures through the years so I am not worried. Hope to meet you when I return.

Leave a Reply

