Skip to content

Good or bad idea????

August 7, 2012

What do you think about writing two books at once?

I have been working for a year on a book about living in Alaska in the late 60’s and early 70’s. It has pushed my brain to the max to recall the facts, and it has also enlarged my bum from sitting at the computer– staring off into space trying to recall long ago adventures. Due to idle thoughts my brain did a lot of wandering, and it drifted off into an earlier time of living in Two Dot, Montana. This evolved into writing two books at one time, now I question how I can accomplish this small task, when I have taken so long to half-way write one.

The Two Dot book is just too fun, and so the Alaska book sits on the back- burner waiting for an inspiration. Those Montana men have such colorful lives, and cute butts… I can’t let it go.

Stay tuned for a brief introduction to the wild west as I knew it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Marlys permalink
    August 7, 2012 7:00 pm

    Donna: I know that I have told you that I would send you some information. We are going to Wiseman tomorrow. I will try to get information sent off…this fall. WHere do I send it?

    • August 7, 2012 7:54 pm

      Hi Marlys, Have a great trip, and let me know how Wiseman is doing. I’m trying to fight my way through my book on Alaska, but it is slow going and I think rather boring, plus it is mainly about hunting and you know how most people feel about killing animals now days.
      You can email me what ever you can come up with, and thank you so much.
      Have a great summer!

  2. August 7, 2012 7:22 pm

    I’m working on two books right now, although one is coming along much, much more slower than the other. I’m also having much, much more fun this way. 😉

  3. August 7, 2012 7:48 pm

    Hey Deborah good luck with both of them. I thought I might be a bit crazy to tackle both, but yes it is fun.

  4. August 7, 2012 7:55 pm

    If you recall, I absolutely adored your early writing on Montana life when you were just a girl. Follow your heart.

    I’m kind of doing the same thing. I am now doing the edits on my first manuscript that I paid a professional editor some serious bucks to edit two years ago. Turns out she did a good job, but I wasn’t ready to do the work of making changes.

    Now, while I’m waiting for my more recent memoir to go through two more readers, I’m doing the corrections on the first work of “creative non-fiction.” Releasing two books at once is better because one does not have to work so hard at marketing each one separately.

    I know if you’d had another book out there besides BIG BACKPACK, LITTLE WORLD, I would have read it next. Two books at a time is good.

    You go girl!

  5. August 8, 2012 10:02 pm

    I make myself finish projects, whether it’s a novel or some other thing I’ve assigned myself (okay, so I’m putting off housework to answer this post!). It’s taking me a long time because I don’t feel very motivated with my own work as much as helping others get into print (I’m an acquisitions editor). I find the occasional blog helps me change things up a bit and keep me fresh. Not that I have my own blog, but I have monthly blogs on two sites and I do Posse Posts on my own site (the Posse is a loose marketing group: http://www.sunnyfrazier.com )

    If you can write two books at once, my cap is off to you. I have to keep my concentration on a tight tether.

Leave a Reply

