Skip to content

It Happened

February 24, 2012

To everyone who bought my first ever written book “Big Backpack–Little World” I want to inform you that I finally did it.

I re-published with the much-needed  corrections. To all those that suffered through the errors, I give you my undying love, and sympathy. Gracias, and I promise never to publish another book without proper editing.

How did this happen? Well, I think I was so impressed that I had actually written 80,000 words, and had paid  two people to edit it, that it must be ready to publish. I will admit to being very naive, and anxious to see this baby in print. That is one of many places where I went wrong.

To anyone thinking of publishing, I offer a word of hard earned advice. EDIT, EDIT, EDIT. When your editor sends it back as a final, read your darling again– read it out loud– read it frontwards– read it backwards– have someone who doesn’t like you read it– read it on paper–re-read the damned thing again. Maybe, just maybe, it might be ready to publish. I hope so and wish you good luck.

If you or someone notices errors, I recommend re-publishing  immediately before anyone else sees these nasty problems. It is much easier than I ever believed, and the time involved was certainly worth it. If you are interested please check out the new revised, cleaned up edition of Big Backpack–Little World.

WARNING: I am presently  working on stories of my life in Alaska, way back in the 60s. It is a compilation of short stories, many of them are hunting, fishing, and living or camping in the wilderness. Now is when you say, “Oh, how exciting, I can’t wait until it is published.”

Happy writing to my fellow writers, and good reads to all the wonderful people that read our scribbles.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2012 5:53 pm

    I was so sick of editing early last year that I published my first book as “good enough” with my own edits. After a week of reconsidering, I realized I didn’t want anything with my name on it out there looking sloppy. I ended up hiring two new sets of eyes, who made their changes in redline and allowed to publish a much cleaner “second edition.” I wish I could swap out all the “first edition” issues that made it out! There weren’t many, but just enough to serve as a really good reminder to spend a little more time on the front end next time. 🙂

    • February 24, 2012 7:12 pm

      Wouldn’t it be wonderful to be able to switch those books. We must not ever make that mistake again. Keep writing, and edit, edit, edit. Have a bright and shiny day.

  2. February 25, 2012 2:03 am

    So you took Timothy Leary’s admonition literally? Tune in, turn on and drop out–all the way to Alaska… Oh,how exciting. I can’t wait until it’s published!

    • February 25, 2012 2:11 am

      Oh Carolyn you will have to be very patient to read this one. It is not going out into the book world without a very clean face. You know how these things take more time than you ever dreamed they would. How’s you writing coming? I hope whizzing along.

  3. February 25, 2012 3:03 am

    I confess, I didn’t spot a single error when I read your book. But then I’m always dumbfounded at the errors I miss in my own writing.

    Anyway, it’s all done. Two more weeks before my (first and new) book group finishes editing the first chapter and I’m sending it off to a publisher. Then another six weeks to find out if they like it or decide my next move. Thanks for asking.

  4. Candace George Thompson permalink
    March 5, 2012 4:47 pm

    Donna, I’ve just gotten around to reading this post. Very good advice. Here’s my story about editing: I usually depend on my brother for fact checks. He has a fantastic memory. Neither he nor my sister noticed that I had spelled his middle name wrong when I wrote about his birth!

    I’ll be looking for more Alaska stories.

Leave a Reply

