Skip to content

What I love about Mexico

October 20, 2011

I believe by now, most people have read some pretty scarey things about what is taking place in Mexico with the drug Cartel. Where I’m living is a small fishing village on the Pacific. In the past Zihuatanejo has only had a handful of problems, but lately it has become more in the news with the Cartel dumping bodies in the street. The local people are very nervous, and many are moving to other areas.

But not me, I’m not leaving because I love it here.

I love to see the men fishing off the rocks, and in little boats out in the bay. Watching the people twirl their lines from home-made hand held rods, is pure art. Then there are the men who walk out into the waves up to their chins and throw a net out, time and time again, they never seem to tire of their efforts, but I rarely see a fish caught.

I love to watch the couples young and old walking hand in hand or with their arms around each other. I know the Latino people are supposed to be romantic, but to see them is almost as good as receiving a hug. It warms my heart and always makes me smile. To watch how loving they are to children, theirs or others is especially beautiful.

I love the birds that perch in the tree in front of my apartment, and the butterflies of many colors. I ask the names of the birds, but no one seems to be sure what they are called in English. A name is not important, just their beauty is the real joy.

These are a few of the reasons I stay and love it here. Now for the things I don’t like, because we all know there has to be something negative besides the drug Cartel.

I don’t like: the dogs running loose in the streets, in fact, I really don’t like it.  The car sirens that go off in the middle of the night, and no one comes to shut them off. I detest the super loud music played in bars late at night, and the cars with their music blasting at decibels to deafen.

I think there is much more to love in Mexico than to dislike. And so I stay.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

