Skip to content

Things I didn’t tell in my book

September 2, 2011

If you have read Big Backpack–Little World stories of my traveling and teaching, this is a little added look at some of the things I left out, or minimized.

In the book I didn’t mention anything about another teacher and myself doing a dine and dash. It wasn’t because we didn’t have the money to pay for it. It was in an Asian restaurant in Mazatlan, Mexico. Our students had told us it was very good. Taking them at their word we decided we would try it out. It looked rather sketchy, but we sat down and ordered. We enjoyed our beer and waited and waited and waited. When the food finally arrived it was cold–I mean not warm but cold. I told the waiter it was cold and unacceptable. He then called the owner over to our table. The owner had been sitting at another table and knew what had taken place. He told us, ” I have been in business here for ten years and no one has ever complained about my food. This food is not cold. At that point I took a spoon-full of rice, took his hand,and dropped some cold rice in his hand, asking him, “Does it feel warm to you? He then changed his story to say, “You took too long to drink your beer, so that is why it is not as hot as it should be.” We talked, he talked, it was clear he thought it was a fine meal and wasn’t going to do anything about it. So we started to walk out and he told us,”If you leave without paying, I’ll call the police.” We ran out, not walked. Once on the street we both burst into giggles, and ran down the street like crazy women. It was the first time in my life I had  not accepted food in a restaurant, no matter how awful it was. We both hoped none of our students saw us, as it wasn’t the best example to set for our students.

Yesterday, I became the baddest of the bad customers.

I used to do fused-glass  and thought I’d try my hand at it again. So I returned to the glass store I had used in the past. I had never found them to be very helpful or pleasant, but returned anyway. Immediately upon entering the store, a young woman rushed over and told me I couldn’t go into the glass room, because I didn’t have on boot and long pants. The man at the counter asked if I had been to their store or bought anything in the last two years, if not I could not buy wholesale, and would have to fill out a new form and return another day or pay retail price. He also told me I couldn’t go into the glass room. So I asked if someone would go get glass for me. I never received an answer. I told them it was shocking that they were turning away my business, which would have amounted to hundreds of dollars that day. Reaching my burn-point, I told them I’d take my business down the road. As I walked out the door, I said something that sounded like, ” You thumb-suckers.” It was close to that! He came running out and told me, “I could shop anywhere I wanted, but not in his store, not ever again!”  I think as I get older, my mouth has gotten bigger, but I know for certain I won’t be going back there.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2011 7:33 pm

    When they figure out that service is important it will be too late. In China they have at least three people trying to wait on you, labor is so cheap. It’s very difficult to get out without purchasing something, plus you can barter if you have a talent for it. Indeed they think it odd if you pay full price.

    Funny post!

  2. September 3, 2011 8:04 pm

    hahahaha!! oh bad, bad, bad!!! and I love it! 🙂 yeah, me too…the older I get the bigger my mouth and the less I stand for bad service or shoddy goods. My daughter is constantly shushing me!! or says Mother leaveit….dont make a scene. LOL
    I love getting older.
    Glad you didn’t pay for the food.
    Cindy
    @notjustagranny

Leave a Reply

