Skip to content

Big Backpack-Chapter 3

May 11, 2011

For those following my blog: Finally, I hitched a ride to the airport. Attended class in Puerto Vallarta and succeeded in acquiring certification for teaching ESL. My first stop was Zihuatanejo

The first and most important thing on my to-do list was to check out the beach. Just to the left of Hotel Suzy was a nice restaurant called the Arcadia. I stopped for a cold cerveza and watched the Mexican children swimming in what didn’t look like great, clean water, but it must be okay, or they wouldn’t be swimming in it, right?

Being excited by the ocean, I jumped in, and very shortly I had an excruciating pain in my foot. I didn’t want to scream, but it just came out of my mouth. I couldn’t really see anything on my foot, but man oh man, did it hurt! An old Mexican fisherman near by, raced over and started rubbing sand on my foot. Knowing only a few words in Spanish; nevertheless I understood his body language, and it was saying, “vamanos!” I hobbled back to the Arcadia, where all the waiters were waiting for me. They seemed to know what was wrong. One of them pulled up a chair, grabbed my leg and told me, “Keep it up above your head, way up above your head!”

Only a few minutes had passed since the sting/bite happened, but already I could see a red line quickly going up my leg. I knew this wasn’t good. One of the waiters, known as Big Johnny, got a good hold of my ankle, took out his pocketknife, and quickly slashed open the bottom of my foot. He squeezed it until a fair amount of blood was flowing, grabbed a lime and some salt, and rubbed the lime on the cut… and then this horrid, nasty, vicious, sadistic man, poured salt on it. You have heard the expression “adding salt to the wound!” I now know the true meaning. My God, the pain! It was as bad as the fish bite.

By now, we had acquired quite a crowd, and I was about as embarrassed as I could be. The good thing was I saw the red line disappearing. No longer concerned, the waiters were having a lot of fun with my foot, massaging my legs, and discussing what fine legs they were. Ok guys, even I knew when enough was enough! The crowd was getting bored, and perhaps a little  disappointed that I was going to live after all. No one ever told me if the fish-bite could have killed me, made me sick, or what. I was just happy to have the red line disappear.

One nice thing did come from that awful stinging fish. I made some fun new friends and found a great place to sit and enjoy the view. In all the hours, I spent at the Arcadia I never did see another foolish person go swimming in that part of the bay. The children still swam close by, but I noticed they never went into the area where I was stung by that nasty fish.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Thedesertrocks permalink
    March 21, 2011 4:54 pm

    Wow, exciting story. Loved it!

  2. March 22, 2011 12:49 am

    Ouch!!! But something good always does happen.

  3. June 27, 2011 2:42 pm

    you are making it incredibly difficult for me to not just pack my bags right now and go………… what a great writer. thrilled you put pen to paper and wrote your book. I am definitely sharing your blog…its fantastic.
    Mexico sounds fab. and Maria is quite right!!!!
    Cindy
    @notjustagranny

    • June 27, 2011 4:02 pm

      Thank you for all your lovely comments. Darn I hope it gets up on Kindle soon. I’d love for you to write a review, because you certainly made my day brighter. I agree with your family, go take the class, load your camera and go for it. It’s a wonderful life, meeting new people and experiencing different cultures.
      I hope your day is filled with sunshine.

Leave a Reply

