Skip to content

Vietnamese Women

May 4, 2011

Three of my students, wearing the traditional Vietnamese dress, called an Ao Dai, pronounced  ( ow yi). The Ao Dai is a long sleeved, high necked silk tunic, with a slit up the side, and worn over white pants.

This traditional dress is seen on every street in Saigon, and I think it is one of the most elegant fashion from around the world. I must say, it looks a little out of place on a foreigner, unless they are as tiny as the Vietnamese women. I own one, but it hangs in a closet, waiting to be made into an exquisite wall hanging.

The Ao Dai is worn by school girls, and it always amazed me how white their pants remained, even in the rainy season. Banks, offices, and hotels often required their workers to wear the traditional dress. My female students, hated to wear it, because it was so difficult to move in, and was warmer than Western clothing.

This is the typical dress of the working woman. I love the cone hats that are worn to protect them from the sun.These hats made great gardening hats for my daughters.

All women in Vietnam cover their arms, and often their faces  for sun protection. These ladies are very aware of sun damage, and light skin is highly desired. It is almost impossible to find any skin creams, deodorant, or lotions without a bleaching ingredient for lightening the skin.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 6, 2011 11:20 am

    Hi! First time here. I visited Vietnam a couple of years ago. I thought it was really great how people still wore traditional clothing. I just had to buy an Ao Dai for myself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

