Skip to content

Two Dot, Montana

November 30, 2010

If you are from Montana, you have probably been to, or at least heard of the Two Dot Bar. This is where I was raised, or darn close to it. This is where I learned to play marbles with the other kids, and where I first pulled the handle of a slot-machine. I think I might have been five or six the first time I was allowed to play that money machine. I’m sure it was to keep me entertained while the adults drank and visited with neighbors. I was there the day the Federal Government came to collect these machines. It seemed they were now illegal in Montana. It felt like they had taken away my most cherished toy.

Many years later the owner of the Two Dot Bar told me, “He had been tipped-off earlier that the Feds were coming, so he left a couple out for them to take, but he hide the rest.” He asked, if I was interested in buying one? He had had them hidden all these years for fear of capital punishment, because it was a federal offense to own them.

I am now the proud owner of two of these one-arm bandits, that I learned to entertain myself on as a child.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 2:46 am

    God, Donna! I remember that machine well. It was in the den of your house on Paystreak Drive in Fairbanks, Alaska. I remember Bran telling me not to touch it…. Glad to hear you still have it! Still, seems I missed out a bit as you didn’t have it in your house to entertain the kids while the grown-ups drank and visited with the neighbors!
    Sure have missed you,
    Chrissy

Leave a Reply

