Skip to content

Back in 2000

September 19, 2010

In 2000 the new millennium was also a new beginning for me. I closed my art gallery in Montana. Rented out my one hundred ten-year old that I had finished restoring. Then I packed everything I owned into storage. I left Montana with only what I could carry in my rather large backpack and caught a flight to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico where I had been accepted into a program to learn to teach ESL (English as a second language).

I knew only three or four words in Spanish and yet here I was the first morning trying to find the right bus to the school. It was a moment of thinking what the hell am I doing here! Then I boarded the correct bus and took a wild ride to school. When I walked into the classroom full of young students, I again thought I must be having a late life crisis. I was by far the oldest student there. But, there I was and as excited as a kindergarten student. I survived and it was the beginning of a love affair with teaching ESL, my students, traveling, fellow backpackers, and life renewed.

I highly recommend this amazing life of teaching ESL. I have traveled solo through numerous countries and have never had a bad experience. Oh yes, I have taken buses that took me to nowhere, had my credit card stolen, and a few small problems. But, I have never been in an unsafe or scary situation in any country. For anyone considering a new life I say “Go for it, you will have the time of your life”.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katy permalink
    March 25, 2014 2:22 am

    Hi Donna. You are truly an inspiration to me. I admire your courage to up and leave your day to day life. My husband and I are both 41 and looking to live around the world and teach ESL. We are both certified. Your success and your story is what I needed to hear. It’s comforting to know that life doesn’t stop after 40+….it begins. Your adventurous and free spirit is something special.

    Would it be possible to ask you a personal question about how you made it all happen, financially? Did you save money? Did you sell everything?

    Thank you for your time and again, thank you so much for this post.

    Best,
    Katy

Leave a Reply

